How to remove someone from a text message group on iPhone

If you want to remove someone from a text message group on iPhone, it’s easier than you might think in iMessage. If you’re using a group iMessage and someone no longer belongs to the group, it’s not entirely impossible to remove them from future communications.

How to remove someone from a text message group on iPhone

This tutorial will walk you through removing users, adding users, muting groups and how to deal with trolls in your group.

Remove someone from a text message group in iMessage

Being added to a particularly active group can be a nuisance. Whatever your reasons for removing someone from a text message group, it’s easy to do on iPhone, even if the controls are a bit hidden.

Limitations

remember it everyone in the group chat must use iMessage (blue chat bubbles); this will not work for regular SMS or MMS group chats (green chat bubbles). You also need at least three other people in the group chat to do this (four people in total). Remove option to appear.

You won’t see the ‘Remove’ option if:

  • There are less than three members in your group message.
  • There is contact via SMS – Even an iPhone can use SMS and still show blue; which means you won’t see the ‘Remove’ option.
  • Someone uses a different operating system than Apple.

How to remove someone from a group message

Assuming all conditions are correct, here’s how to remove someone from an iMessage group:

  1. Open the appropriate group chat from iMessage.

    Screen Shot 2021 11 17 at 12.59.18 PM

  2. Tap the cluster of icons at the top of the iMessage group.

    Screen Shot 2021 11 17 at 12.59.28 PM

  3. Click on ‘I’ which will appear on the right and a list of group members will open.

    Screen Shot 2021 11 17 at 12.59.38 PM

  4. Swipe left on the name of the person you want to remove and tap ‘Remove’ when it appears on the right. If you can’t swipe to reveal ‘Remove’ option, see statement above.

    Screen Shot 2021 11 17 at 12.59.49 PM

  5. Choose Remove when a pop-up window appears.

    Screen Shot 2021 11 17 at 12.59.59 PM

Also Read:  How to crop YouTube videos for social media

This will immediately remove that person from your message group. If you don’t have the option to “Remove”, you will have to start a new thread without unwanted contact. The chat history will stay on your phone, but they won’t get any new ones if you send your texts in the new group and not the old one.

Remove yourself from a group iMessage

There is an option to unsubscribe from an iMessage group provided the above criteria are met. If someone adds you to a group you don’t want to be in, do the following:

  1. Open the iMessage group as before and click on the small one ‘I’ under profile pictures.

    Screen Shot 2021 11 17 at 1.06.11 PM

  2. Scroll down to the information page and tap on “Leave this conversation.

    Screen Shot 2021 11 17 at 1.06.24 PM

Again, if you don’t see this option, it could be because someone in the group isn’t using iMessage, or the group is too small to meet the above criteria.

Add someone to a group iMessage

Fortunately, if you’re missing a contact, you can add it later. The same admittedly weird criteria above apply, so if there’s an SMS user in the group, you won’t be able to pull it off.

  1. Open the information page as we did above. Tap the option ‘+ Add contact.’

    Screenshot 28 2

  2. Select the contact and add them to the group as usual.

    IMG 0163

Mute a conversation in iMessage

If you’re not ready to leave the conversation but want to take a break, you can hide the notification. This means less hassle and saves you from confrontation.

  1. Open a group chat on your iPhone and tap the circle of profile pictures at the top of the window.

    Screenshot 2022 01 23 1219481

  2. Click on ‘and‘ when a list of group members is displayed.

    Screenshot 2022 01 23 121948

  3. Choose Hide notification at the bottom of the group window.

    Screenshot 2022 01 23 1219483

Also Read:  Instagram account deleted? Here's what you can do about it

This will prevent conversation notifications from reaching your phone and effectively ignore them.

Block contact

If you don’t have all the options, consider blocking the contact. Assuming you can’t leave a group you never asked for (such as a spammer), your only option is to block people in the group.

You can also stop messages from an individual in a group.

  1. Open a group chat on your iPhone. Then tap on the contact group at the top of the page.

    Screenshot 3 3

  2. Select blue ‘I’ for the Info icon in the upper right corner, open the list of group members.

    Screenshot 4 3

  3. Select the person you want to block.

    Screenshot 5 1

  4. Choose Block this caller.

    Screenshot 6 1

  5. Choose “Block Contact” confirm

    IMG 0164

This last step is important because iMessage won’t always block a person unless you confirm it in the group window. If that’s the option you have to take, we’ve got a complete guide on how to do it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Protecting your peace in the digital age shouldn’t be a problem. Here’s some more information on how to manage iMessage groups.

Can I delete the whole group?

Unfortunately, no. You can swipe to remove the conversation, but everyone else will stay in the group. Whenever someone sends a new message to the group, you’ll get a notification and the conversation will reappear in your messaging app.

Can I update someone’s contact information in a group?

Yes, with the “i” above, you should be able to access the update of users’ phone numbers. If it doesn’t update correctly, simply add a new contact to the group.

What happens if I block a contact who is in a group message with me?

If you block someone in an iMessage group, they will still be in the group. But luckily they don’t see your messages and you don’t see theirs. If one person is bothering you, you can block that contact without completely kicking them out of the iMessage group.

Also Read:  How to change or set your Zoom profile picture

Keep in mind that other contacts will still see messages from you and the person you blocked.

Start a new group chat that doesn’t include a troll

If you are not the one who started the group chat and others are responding to the troll, you may need to remove yourself from the group chat and then start a new message group to exclude the troll. If you then post a message in the group letting them know why you started the new message group, people may go silent or remove themselves from the original group and continue a more civil conversation in the new group.

Do you have any suggestions on how to avoid trolls in text message groups, social media, and online forums? If so, please comment below.

Leave a Comment